Posted on

A lone operator, but not alone in the world!

I’m Surrender Kumar.  I’m just a simple observer of things in this world that are hidden or that people and societies prefer to keep hidden.  I am not attempting to uncover any of these secrets for any nefarious purpose or agenda.  That’s why I’m the lone operator.  I don’t represent an organization or political ethos in my search.  It’s like seeing how the sausage is made.  Some of my observations cover I are often ugly and definitely makes people uncomfortable, but it is part of a globalized economy and in many ways part of an informal safety net for millions of people from jobs, access to resources/capital and social welfare.  They are obviously in professions, organizations and environments which if exposed present a danger to them, their families and their livelihoods.  For this illicit sector of people, places and activities, I’m only trying to humanize the participants and show my reader that in some shape or form, we all live life in the gray spaces.  The second part is putting events and trends into a larger context.  For much of my subject matter, it’s hidden in plain sight for anyone to observe. The obvious ones are triads, prostitutes, smugglers, terrorists, free masons, corrupt officials, militia men, hospital workers, street cleaners and night club owners.  Then there are the trends, movements and events occurring before our eyes that I’m putting into context.  My bit is primarily in Asia, since it’s the place that appreciates me the best.  Sit down, connect with a thug, a hooker or an invisible hotel worker and you’ll find the raw humanity that’s keeping the surface world running on time.  This world is part of the broad strokes that will help paint the bigger picture.

Surrender Kumar

27 May 2012

About Yogi (Surrender Kumar)

I'm hard to nail down at any given time and I'm a lot of things to a lot of people. I converse about Asia and technology, but my real passion is food, which is why I'm Yogi the Bear is my avatar. Future new media streams are in the works and will be added as soon as they become available.

Leave a Reply

